top of page

Released 25 September 2012

Ralph Ellison said, “In the swift whirl of time music is a constant, reminding us of what we were and of that toward which we aspire. Art thou troubled? Music will not only calm, it will enable thee.”

Clifton Anderson's latest offering on Daywood Drive Records "And So We Carry On" showcases six great new original compositions and three uniquely arranged standards. All are combined with stellar performances from both Clifton, his working group and an impressive list of guest artists.

Produced by - Clifton Anderson
Recording Engineer - Andy Taub
Assistant Engineer - Ben Liscio
Mixed by - Todd Whitelock
Mastered by - Mark Wilder

Clifton Anderson - trombone;

Eric Wyatt - Tenor sax;

Donald Vega - Piano;

Essiet Okon Essiet - bass;

Steve Williams - drums

Guest Artists:
Monty Alexander
- piano; Bob Cranshaw - bass; Kimati Dinizulu -percussion; Kenny Garrett - soprano sax; Steve Jordan - drums; Wallace Roney - trumpet; Jeff "Tain" Watts - drums; Warren Wolf - vibraphone and Victor See Yuen - percussion

Recorded September 2011/Copyright 2012

These are uncompressed AIFF downloadable tracks. You may purchase them individually.


Lead Sheets and Transcription available here

And So We Carry On


Trombonist Clifton Anderson has played with a Who's Who of jazz and beyond, including McCoy Tyner, Slide Hampton, and Paul Simon, and is perhaps best known as the front-line foil for tenor sax titan Sonny Rollins (who's also his uncle). DECADE is something of a concept album, a hefty summation of Anderson's wide musical range--with jazz versions of pop standards ("If") to surging hard bop to the Caribbean calypso of the Mighty Sparrow (Anderson played in his band too). Emerging from the J.J. Johnson school of straight-ahead bop trombone, Anderson is a talent to be reckoned with.


Produced by Clifton Anderson
Recorded and Mixed by Richard Corsello
Mastered by Fred Kevorkian
Executive Producer Sonny Rollins

Recorded December 10,11 & 28, 2007
Avatar Studios NYC - Studio C
Photographer: John Abbott
Liner Notes: Bob Blumenthal

Personnel: Clifton Anderson (trombone); Kenny Garrett (alto saxophone); Eric Wyatt (tenor saxophone); Larry Willis; Stephen Scott (piano); Bob Cranshaw (acoustic bass, upright bass, electric bass); Christian McBride (acoustic bass, upright bass); Steve Jordan; Al Foster (drums); Kimati Dinizulu (percussion)


January 27, 2009 / Doxy/Emarcy records
Copyright 2008



Clifton's first release as a leader and producer.  "Strongly influenced by J.J. Johnson, Anderson is a fine bop-based player with a warm tone and an underrated improvising style. The trombonist is featured with pianist Monty Alexander, bassist Bob Cranshaw, drummer Al Foster and percussionist Victor See Yuen on five straight-ahead originals, two standards, and a calypso. There is one guest appearance apiece for trumpeter Wallace Roney and altoist Kenny Garrett, but the focus is very much on Anderson`s fluid horn. Recommended". ~ Scott Yanow

Milestone MCD-9266

Produced by Clifton Anderson
Co-produced by Victor See Yuen
Recorded and Mixed by Jim Anderson
Mastered by Allan Tucker

Clifton Anderson (trombone); Wallace Roney (trumpet); Kenny Garrett (alto saxophone); Monty Alexander (piano); Bob Cranshaw (bass); Al Foster (drums); Victor See Yuen (percussion)

Recorded at The Power Station, New York, New York on January 30 & 31, 1995

Released December 3, 1996 


bottom of page