top of page
clifton sample looks_final reduced.jpg

Some Things Never Change

Releases 31 August 2023

"Sooner or later you come to realize that for better or for worse - Some Things Never Change."
Life’s highs and lows, joys and sadness - the yin and yang, good and evil and the triumphs and flaws of our human experience challenge us generation after generation.
Some Things Never Change is a celebration of resiliency as well as a recognition of our human nature.

Some Things Never Change features performances by:

Clifton Anderson - trombone
Kenny Garrett - alto saxophone
Ray Parker Jr. - guitar
Steve Jordan - drums
Russel Blake - bass
John F. Adams - keyboards
Victor See Yuen - percussion

Written, Arranged and Produced by Clifton Anderson
Recorded throughout 2023
Recording engineers:
Andy Taub- Brooklyn Recording
Assistant engineer - Sam Wahl
Gianluca Girard - Funky Joes
Mastering engineer - Steve Fallone
Sterling Sound

What We Do Music / Alexer Music -copyright 2023

Been Down_Cover.jpg
Get an autographed copy of Been Down This Road Before on Ropeadope Records. Limited Supply!

Been Down This Road Before

Released 4 December 2020

We’ve known for a long time now that music is one of the most powerful tools available to maintain and sustain the integrity of our human existence. Music can be cathartic. It can be stimulating and soothing, joyful, sentimental and in many instances thought provoking.

Been Down This Road Before encompasses all of the above. A message at a time when racism, greed, injustice and a deadly pandemic are jeopardizing our ability to exist harmoniously with one another and with our planet.

Been Down This Road Before is the culmination of several year’s work, and contains ten tracks that are brought to life by eighteen sensational musicians. Included are four tributes dedicated to four special people that have been particularly influential and supportive The other six tracks represent a variety of different personal perceptions based on life experiences. In total Been Down This Road Before is a stimulating and assuring musical journey we need right now.

Clifton Anderson - trombone, didgeridoo, Zylo drum
Andy Bey - vocals
Rene McLean - tenor sax and reeds
Antoine Roney - tenor and soprano sax
Eric Wyatt - tenor sax
Peter Bernstein - guitar
Stephen Scott - piano/keyboards
Monty Alexander - piano/ fender rhodes
Tadataka Unno - piano
John F. Adams - Piano/keyboards
Buster Williams - bass
Tom Barney - bass
Al Foster - drums
Steve Jordan - drums
Ronnie Burrage - drums
Victor See Yuen - percussion
Sammy Figueroa - percussion
Mala Waldron - background vocals
Angela Workman - background vocals

Produced by - Clifton Anderson
Recording and Mixing Engineer - Andy Taub
Assistant Engineer - Sam Wahl
Mastered by - MarK Wilder

Recorded at Brooklyn Recording ….New York City
Mastered at SONY/ Battery Studios
Recorded March 25, 2018 / May 21 & 22, 2019

Been Down This Road Before T-Shirt

Get a T-shirt and support The BET COVID-19 Relief Emergency Fund!    T-shirt for the upcoming recording release Been Down This Road Before on Ropeadope Records. 
Limited Supply!

Released 25 September 2012

Ralph Ellison said, “In the swift whirl of time music is a constant, reminding us of what we were and of that toward which we aspire. Art thou troubled? Music will not only calm, it will enable thee.”

Clifton Anderson's latest offering on Daywood Drive Records "And So We Carry On" showcases six great new original compositions and three uniquely arranged standards. All are combined with stellar performances from both Clifton, his working group and an impressive list of guest artists.

Produced by - Clifton Anderson
Recording Engineer - Andy Taub
Assistant Engineer - Ben Liscio
Mixed by - Todd Whitelock
Mastered by - Mark Wilder

Clifton Anderson - trombone;

Eric Wyatt - Tenor sax;

Donald Vega - Piano;

Essiet Okon Essiet - bass;

Steve Williams - drums

Guest Artists:
Monty Alexander
- piano; Bob Cranshaw - bass; Kimati Dinizulu -percussion; Kenny Garrett - soprano sax; Steve Jordan - drums; Wallace Roney - trumpet; Jeff "Tain" Watts - drums; Warren Wolf - vibraphone and Victor See Yuen - percussion

Recorded September 2011/Copyright 2012

These are uncompressed AIFF downloadable tracks. You may purchase them individually.

And So We Carry On


Trombonist Clifton Anderson has played with a Who's Who of jazz and beyond, including McCoy Tyner, Slide Hampton, and Paul Simon, and is perhaps best known as the front-line foil for tenor sax titan Sonny Rollins (who's also his uncle). DECADE is something of a concept album, a hefty summation of Anderson's wide musical range--with jazz versions of pop standards ("If") to surging hard bop to the Caribbean calypso of the Mighty Sparrow (Anderson played in his band too). Emerging from the J.J. Johnson school of straight-ahead bop trombone, Anderson is a talent to be reckoned with.


Produced by Clifton Anderson
Recorded and Mixed by Richard Corsello
Mastered by Fred Kevorkian
Executive Producer Sonny Rollins

Recorded December 10,11 & 28, 2007
Avatar Studios NYC - Studio C
Photographer: John Abbott
Liner Notes: Bob Blumenthal

Personnel: Clifton Anderson (trombone); Kenny Garrett (alto saxophone); Eric Wyatt (tenor saxophone); Larry Willis; Stephen Scott (piano); Bob Cranshaw (acoustic bass, upright bass, electric bass); Christian McBride (acoustic bass, upright bass); Steve Jordan; Al Foster (drums); Kimati Dinizulu (percussion)


January 27, 2009 / Doxy/Emarcy records
Copyright 2008



Clifton's first release as a leader and producer.  "Strongly influenced by J.J. Johnson, Anderson is a fine bop-based player with a warm tone and an underrated improvising style. The trombonist is featured with pianist Monty Alexander, bassist Bob Cranshaw, drummer Al Foster and percussionist Victor See Yuen on five straight-ahead originals, two standards, and a calypso. There is one guest appearance apiece for trumpeter Wallace Roney and altoist Kenny Garrett, but the focus is very much on Anderson`s fluid horn. Recommended". ~ Scott Yanow

Milestone MCD-9266

Produced by Clifton Anderson
Co-produced by Victor See Yuen
Recorded and Mixed by Jim Anderson
Mastered by Allan Tucker

Clifton Anderson (trombone); Wallace Roney (trumpet); Kenny Garrett (alto saxophone); Monty Alexander (piano); Bob Cranshaw (bass); Al Foster (drums); Victor See Yuen (percussion)

Recorded at The Power Station, New York, New York on January 30 & 31, 1995

Released December 3, 1996 


bottom of page